- Rangers Report - http://rangers.lohudblogs.com -

Lundqvist, Malkin, Stamkos are Hart finalists

Posted By On April 27, 2012 @ 11:40 am In Hockey,New York Rangers,NHL | 161 Comments

FYI: Last goalie to win Hart Trophy (MVP): Jose Theodore in ’02; before that: Dominik Hasek in ’97 & ’98; before that: Jacques Plante in ’62.


From the NHL:



NEW YORK (April 27, 2012) — Goaltender Henrik Lundqvist of the New
York Rangers, center Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins and center
Steven Stamkos of the Tampa Bay Lightning are the three finalists for the
2011-12 Hart Memorial Trophy, awarded ” to the player adjudged to be the
most valuable to his team,” the National Hockey League announced today.

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association submitted
ballots for the Hart Trophy at the conclusion of the regular season, with
the top three vote-getters designated as finalists. The winner will be
announced Wednesday, June 20, during the 2012 NHL Awards from Encore
Theater at Wynn Las Vegas. The 2012 NHL Awards will be broadcast by NBC
Sports Network in the United States and CBC in Canada.

Following are the finalists for the Hart Trophy, in alphabetical

Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers

Lundqvist was the anchor of a Rangers club that posted its best
regular-season record since the Stanley Cup season of 1993-94 and captured
first place in the Eastern Conference. He went 39-18-5 in 62 appearances,
setting a career high in wins. He placed near the top in all major
goaltending categories: third in wins, tied for third in shutouts (eight),
fourth in goals-against average (1.97) and fourth in save percentage
(.930). Also voted a finalist for the Vezina Trophy, Lundqvist is the first
goaltender to vie for Hart Trophy honors since 2007, when Vancouver’s
Roberto Luongo and New Jersey’s Martin Brodeur were second and third,

Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins

Malkin captured his second career Art Ross Trophy by leading the NHL
with 109 points (50 goals, 59 assists). He registered points in 60 of the
75 games he played in (80%) and became the first player since 1995-96 to
record five or more points at least four times in one season. Malkin also
finished second in the NHL with a career-high 50 goals and led the League
with 339 shots on goal. He is the first scoring champion to win by a
double-digit margin since Pittsburgh’s Jaromir Jagr finished 20 points
ahead of Anaheim’s Teemu Selanne in 1998-99. Malkin is a Hart Finalist for
the third time; he finished second to Washington’s Alex Ovechkin in 2008
and 2009.

Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay Lightning

Stamkos scored a League-leading 60 goals to capture his second
Maurice Richard Trophy in the past three seasons. He notched his 60th goal
in Tampa Bay’s season finale at Winnipeg, becoming the first player to
reach the milestone since 2007-08 (Alex Ovechkin, 65); before Ovechkin, the
last time a player hit 60 was 1995-96 (Mario Lemieux, 69; Jaromir Jagr,
62). Stamkos tied for the League lead with Phoenix’s Radim Vrbata in
game-winning goals (12), scored an NHL-record five overtime goals and
notched 48 even-strength scores, the most of any player since 1992-93. The
22-year-old is an NHL Trophy finalist for the first time.


The Hart Memorial Trophy was presented by the National Hockey League
in 1960 after the original Hart Trophy was retired to the Hockey Hall of
Fame. The original Hart Trophy was donated to the NHL in 1924 by Dr. David
A. Hart, father of Cecil Hart, former manager-coach of the Montreal

Article printed from Rangers Report: http://rangers.lohudblogs.com

URL to article: http://rangers.lohudblogs.com/2012/04/27/lundqvist-malkin-stamkos-are-hart-finalists/