- Rangers Report - http://rangers.lohudblogs.com -

Denmark 2, USA 1 (OT); Drury elected to LL board

Posted By On May 10, 2010 @ 4:22 pm In Uncategorized | 92 Comments

From USA Hockey:

U.S. Men’s National Team Falls to Denmark, 2-1, in Overtime
at 2010 IIHF World Men’s Championship

COLOGNE, Germany -The U.S. Men’s National Team dropped a 2-1 overtime decision to Denmark here today in its second preliminary-round game of the 2010 International Ice Hockey Federation World Men’s Championship. It marked the second straight game that Team USA fell by a 2-1 overtime count, as the Americans now hold a 0-0-2-0 record (W-OTW-OTL-L).

“I thought we played our game in the second period,” said U.S. Head Coach Scott Gordon. “Establishing a solid forecheck is a big part of playing our game. We turned the puck over way too much in the neutral zone overall. In the end, give Denmark credit. They earned the victory.”

After a scoreless first period, the teams traded power-play goals in the middle stanza. Lars Eller beat U.S. netminder Scott Clemmensen (Des Moines, Iowa/Florida Panthers/Boston College) with a slap shot from the right circle at 8:52 to put Denmark on top. Just 3:11 later, Keith Yandle (Boston, Mass./Phoenix Coyotes) evened the game after he converted a cross-crease feed from Kyle Okposo (St. Paul, Minn./New York Islanders/University of Minnesota). Jack Johnson (Ann Arbor, Mich./Los Angeles Kings/University of Michigan), who is serving as Team USA’s captain, also assisted on the play. The Americans had the upperhand in the period, outshooting Denmark by a 17-5 count.

After a scoreless third period, which included Team USA having to kill off a late Denmark power play, the game went to a five-minute, four-on-four overtime session. Stefan Lassen scored off a rebound 2:04 into the extra session to give Denmark its second straight victory.

Clemmensen finished with 27 saves, while Denmark goaltender Patrick Galbraith made 30 stops.

Team USA concludes the preliminary round on Wednesday (May 12) against Finland. Opening faceoff is set for 8:15 p.m. (2:15 p.m. EDT).

NOTES: Keith Yandle was named U.S. Player of the Game … The top three teams in each of the four groups in the World Championship advance to the qualification round … For Team USA’s roster, click here [1] … Coverage of the 2010 U.S. Men’s National Team can be found here [2] … All Team USA games, as well as additional international games, will air on Universal Sports and at UniversalSports.com [3]. Visit UniversalSports.com [3] for the full schedule … All teams in the 2010 IIHF World Men’s Championship may begin the tournament with 20 skaters and three goaltenders, and can add two players after the first three games … Scott Gordon, head coach of the NHL’s New York Islanders, is the head coach of the 2010 U.S. Men’s National Team, with Todd Richards, head coach of the NHL’s Minnesota Wild, Joe Sacco, head coach of the NHL’s Colorado Avalanche, and Ron Rolston, one of two head coaches at USA Hockey’s National Team Development Program, serving as assistant coaches … The 2010 U.S. Men’s National Team is under the direction of Brian Burke, general manager; David Poile, associate general manager; and Jim Johannson, assistant executive director for hockey operations at USA Hockey. The U.S. Men’s National Team Advisory Group, which also includes NHL front-office personnel Paul Holmgren (Philadelphia Flyers), Dean Lombardi (Los Angeles Kings), Ray Shero (Pittsburgh Penguins) and Don Waddell (Atlanta Thrashers), is charged with leading the selection of players for the U.S. Men’s National Team … USA Hockey’s international council, chaired by Tony Rossi, vice president of USA Hockey, has oversight responsibilities for all U.S. national teams.


Just got this from the NYR:

NHL’s Chris Drury Elected to Little League Foundation Board of Trustees

SOUTH WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. (May 10, 2010) – Chris Drury, Captain of the National Hockey League’s New York Rangers, has become the first Little League Baseball World Series alumnus to be elected to the Little League Foundation Board of Trustees, it was announced today by foundation President Howard Paster.

Celebrating 55 years since its inception, the Little League Foundation is a non-profit, tax-exempt agency established to stabilize and insure the future of Little League – the world’s largest organized youth sports program – and to protect its ideals, and extend its benefits.

“For more than a half-century, the projects supported by the Little League Foundation have been vital to the success of the organization,” Mr. Paster said. “The foundation has always strived to include trustees who not only share the ideals of Little League, but who also represent a wide variety of backgrounds. We are continuing that tradition with the addition of Chris Drury to our outstanding roster of trustees.”

The pursuit of excellence has defined Chris Drury since his childhood, starting with his success on the baseball field as a pitcher and catcher during his years in Trumbull (Conn.) National Little League, and later as one of the elite ice hockey players in the world.

On Aug. 26, 1989, the world first saw a glimpse of what Chris Drury would become. That day, he went to the mound at Howard J. Lamade Stadium to pitch the Championship Game of the 43rd Little League Baseball World Series versus Far East Region Champion Kang-Tu Little League from Chinese Taipei. Mr. Drury and his Trumbull National Little League teammates were tasked with stopping a five-year losing streak for the United States, which included three straight defeats to teams from Chinese Taipei.

He was up to the challenge, pitching Trumbull National Little League to a 5-2 victory before a crowd of more than 40,000 and a national television audience of millions. Twenty years later, he was back in Williamsport during the 2009 Little League Baseball World Series to accept enshrinement into the Peter J. McGovern Little League Museum Hall of Excellence.

Drafted out of high school by the NHL’s Quebec Nordiques, Mr. Drury elected to attend Boston University (BU), where in 1995, as a freshman, he helped the Terriers win the NCAA Division I Ice Hockey National Championship. By the end of his collegiate career, he was the first BU player to eclipse 100 goals and assists (113 and 100, respectively). As BU’s captain in 1998, Mr. Drury was recognized as the Hobey Baker Award winner as the top college hockey player in the country.

One of 12 forwards selected to the USA Men’s Hockey Team that won the silver medal in the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver, British Columbia, Mr. Drury is entering his 12th year in the NHL. Since 1996, Mr. Drury has played in a several international ice hockey tournaments as a member of Team USA, including the ’02 and ’06 Winter Olympic Games.

In 2001, he helped the Colorado Avalanche to the Stanley Cup Championship. He also won the NHL’s Rookie of the Year honors for the 1998-99 season.

Article printed from Rangers Report: http://rangers.lohudblogs.com

URL to article: http://rangers.lohudblogs.com/2010/05/10/denmark-2-usa-1-ot-drury-elected-to-ll-board/

URLs in this post:

[1] here: http://www.usahockey.com/Template_Usahockey.aspx?NAV=TU_01_03&id=285864

[2] here: http://www.usahockey.com/Template_Usahockey.aspx?NAV=TU_01&ID=21428

[3] UniversalSports.com: http://www.universalsports.com/