2008-2009 schedule released

34

Update, 6:19 p.m.: Yes, a double bogey to me (and that should show you where my head is these days) for failing to mention Sean Avery’s return to the Garden on Oct. 20. Do I sense a video montage set to the music of Barbara Streisand?

Earlier: Thanks to sports editor Susie Arth for jumping in literally while I was stuck on a golf course. You can access “the full schedule here”:http://rangers.nhl.com/team/app?service=page&page=TeamSchedule, but in the meantime, a few highlights:

<li>The greatly anticipated Michal Rozsival and Petr Prucha Homecoming Tour (note sarcasm) hits Prague Oct. 4 and 5, where the Rangers face the Lightning.

<li>The Rangers open their North American schedule at home Oct. 10 against Brian Campbell and the recently retooled Blackhawks.

<li>A trip to Detroit to face the defending Stanley Cup champion Red Wings on Oct. 18.

<li>An early visit by the Debbies Oct. 13.

<li>A California swing in December against the Ducks, Kings, and Sharks.

<li>A home-and-home to close the season against the Flyers.

<li>As we already know, the Rangers will play divisional opponents six times, other Eastern Conference teams four times, and will play every team in the league at least once.

More later…

About Author

34 Comments

  1. – October:

    Sat Oct 4; Rangers @ Lightning (Prague, CZ) 12:00 PM
    Sun Oct 5; Lightning @ Rangers (Prague, CZ) 12:00 PM
    Fri Oct 10; Blackhawks @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Sat Oct 11; Rangers @ Flyers 7:00 PM
    Mon Oct 13; Devils @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Wed Oct 15; Sabres @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Fri Oct 17; Maple Leafs @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Sat Oct 18; Rangers @ Red Wings 7:00 PM
    Mon Oct 20; Stars @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Fri Oct 24; Rangers @ Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
    Sat Oct 25; Penguins @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Mon Oct 27; Rangers @ Islanders 7:00 PM
    Thu Oct 30; Thrashers @ Rangers 7:00 PM

    – November:

    Sat Nov 1; Rangers @ Maple Leafs 7:00 PM
    Tue Nov 4; Islanders @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Thu Nov 6; Lightning @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Sat Nov 8; Rangers @ Capitals 7:00 PM
    Mon Nov 10; Oilers @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Wed Nov 12; Rangers @ Devils 7:00 PM
    Sat Nov 15; Bruins @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Mon Nov 17; Senators @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Wed Nov 19; Canucks @ Rangers 7:30 PM
    Sat Nov 22; Rangers @ Senators 3:00 PM
    Mon Nov 24; Coyotes @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Wed Nov 26; Rangers @ Lightning 7:30 PM
    Fri Nov 28; Rangers @ Panthers 7:30 PM
    Sun Nov 30; Panthers @ Rangers 1:00 PM

    – December:

    Wed Dec 3; Penguins @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Thu Dec 4; Rangers @ Canadiens 7:00 PM
    Sun Dec 7; Flames @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Wed Dec 10; Rangers @ Thrashers 7:00 PM
    Fri Dec 12; Rangers @ Devils 7:00 PM
    Sat Dec 13; Hurricanes @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Tue Dec 16; Rangers @ Ducks 10:00 PM
    Wed Dec 17; Rangers @ Kings 10:30 PM
    Sat Dec 20; Rangers @ Sharks 10:30 PM
    Tue Dec 23; Capitals @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Sat Dec 27; Devils @ Rangers 7:30 PM
    Mon Dec 29; 2008 Islanders @ Rangers 7:00 PM

    ****2009****

    – January:

    Sat Jan 3; Rangers @ Capitals 7:00 PM
    Mon Jan 5; Penguins @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Wed Jan 7; Canadiens @ Rangers 7:30 PM
    Fri Jan 9; Rangers @ Sabres 7:30 PM
    Sat Jan 10; Rangers @ Senators 7:00 PM
    Tue Jan 13; Rangers @ Islanders 7:00 PM
    Fri Jan 16; Rangers @ Blackhawks 8:30 PM
    Sun Jan 18; Rangers @ Penguins 3:00 PM
    Tue Jan 20; Ducks @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Tue Jan 27; Hurricanes @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Wed Jan 28; Rangers @ Penguins 7:30 PM
    Sat Jan 31; Rangers @ Bruins 1:00 PM

    – February:

    Tue Feb 3; Thrashers @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Fri Feb 6; Rangers @ Stars 8:30 PM
    Mon Feb 9; Rangers @ Devils 7:00 PM
    Wed Feb 11; Capitals @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Fri Feb 13; Rangers @ Panthers 7:30 PM
    Sun Feb 15; Flyers @ Rangers 3:00 PM
    Mon Feb 16; Rangers @ Blues 7:00 PM
    Wed Feb 18; Islanders @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Sat Feb 21; Rangers @ Sabres 7:00 PM
    Sun Feb 22; Maple Leafs @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Wed Feb 25; Rangers @ Maple Leafs 7:30 PM
    Thu Feb 26; Panthers @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Sat Feb 28; Avalanche @ Rangers 7:00 PM

    – March:

    Thu Mar 5; Rangers @ Islanders 7:00 PM
    Sun Mar 8; Bruins @ Rangers 3:00 PM
    Mon Mar 9; Rangers @ Hurricanes 7:00 PM
    Thu Mar 12; Rangers @ Predators 8:00 PM
    Sat Mar 14; Rangers @ Flyers 1:00 PM
    Sun Mar 15; Flyers @ Rangers 3:00 PM
    Tue Mar 17; Rangers @ Canadiens 7:30 PM
    Sat Mar 21; Sabres @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Sun Mar 22; Senators @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Tue Mar 24; Wild @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Thu Mar 26; Rangers @ Thrashers 7:00 PM
    Sat Mar 28; Rangers @ Penguins 1:00 PM
    Mon Mar 30; Devils @ Rangers 7:00 PM

    – April:

    Thu Apr 2; Rangers @ Hurricanes 7:00 PM
    Sat Apr 4; Rangers @ Bruins 1:00 PM
    Tue Apr 7; Canadiens @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Thu Apr 9; Flyers @ Rangers 7:00 PM
    Sun Apr 12; Rangers @ Flyers 5:00 PM

  2. note: Sam’s post was corrected. It looked like a big cluster-fug before.

    SAM – I wouldn’t jump the gun on a “Prucha homecoming” just yet. October is a long time away.

  3. Wow, i didn’t know Hoss was playing in Russia. Jeez louise my knees !!! Everything aboot that deal has gone to shit thus far. If Freddy leaves were screwed out of the deal, if Monty sucks then its all even. Mwahaha Monty is nothing special.

    Cant wait till MSGNY PLAYS SOMETHING RANGER RELATED !!!!!!!!

    Stupid John Gianone said “hockey coming up next” THEN THAN it went to a commercial, and when it came back, all it said was Dawes re signed by Nyr, and 4 players re siigned by Fish. Total BS

    I don’t like Gianone, give Trautwig his job back, stick Gianone with old man Fischler and the stupid idiot Butch Goring. That guy looks like a rapist. Makes me sick !!

  4. Great, now we have a Rangers Schedule on every page. Whoever is posting false articles, we know its Not true unless we get a Link to it, and Beer Me uses a ! with his name, regardless of his site NAMBLARULES22@aol.com

  5. At least the NHL _almost_ got it right with our three two-gamers with the West. They should have done like the NFL and made it the three teams that finished in the same spot in their division as we did (the NFL sets the two extra intraconference matchups this way). So we should be playing the Flames instead of the Ducks under my plan, but hopefully they have some sort of plan, five years in this case, where it will all be equal.

    ORR – *Aboot* what time did you turn Canadian?!

    I freaked out earlier when I was eating a blueberry cake/muffin thing earlier and it looked like the Toronto Maple Leaf from the side I was eating.

    I have a suggestion: use a website to link through your handle, then we’ll know who is real and who is an imposter (besides the drivvel that comes from the latter) because somebody is too dumb to figure that out.

  6. I’m also surprised Sam failed to mention Avery’s return on October 20th. I thought that since we hosted the Stars last year that they would not return in 2009-2010. I’m happy I was wrong.

    Here’s hoping Renney sends out Orr and company any time Avery’s on the ice. I could easily see him try and run Drury or someone else on his first shift.

  7. I’m glad that they changed the schedule so that every team plays each other at least once. It was ridiculous that we wouldn’t even get to see a handful of teams play against the Rangers each year.

    I wouldn’t hold your breathe on Avery’s homecoming either. He should be hurt by that point anyway, given his ridiculous injury problems.

  8. Where does this “Avery’s ridiculous injury” myth come from?

    He played 75 Gm, 76 gm and 84 gm in each of the three previous full seasons prior to 07-08!!!

    He plays tough but it wasn’t until last year that he missed signifigant time….I think its because he “saved” our 06-07 season late people think he was injured before he got here…he wasn’t…he was just an LA King!

  9. Will be interesting to see when the Adam Graves number retirement is as well as the number recognition of Andy Bathgate and Harry Howell is.

    Also, will be interesting to see how they handle the number recognition since this is a first if franchise history,

  10. Avery is an agitator, not a goon. There’s a big difference.

    I’ve never seen him take “runs” at guys — be it from in front or behind.

    He may be privy to the occassional cheap shot and he sure does know how to run his mouth, but he never looks to injure a guy and he definitely doesn’t take runs. FOr this reason, I don’t think we need to worry about him running chris drury.

  11. Haven’t all the recent jersey retiring nights been in January? I know Mess and Leetch were in Jan – not sure about Richter. If so I would assume Graves night is Jan 5th, 7th, 20th or 27th since those are the only home games we have in Jan 09… and you gotta figure they wait til ’09 to retire #9………. I bet its Jan 20th, 2009

  12. given his ridiculous injury problems.
    ……

    Kaspar, I tried saying the same thing (probably with you). Avery doesn’t yet have a “ridiculous injury problem.” If he gets hurt again and misses time this year then yes, it’s starting. But he’s had 1 season with injuries, stop making up shit if you don’t know shit, (Brett).

  13. Sweet Pete the ladies treat on

    Wow, Rangers play the Flyers 4th game in and then they don’t meet again until Feb 15. This new schedule is….odd. Can’t remember the last time 2 division rivals went that long during the season without playing each other. Could be interesting…

  14. “Kaspar, I tried saying the same thing (probably with you). Avery doesn’t yet have a “ridiculous injury problem.” If he gets hurt again and misses time this year then yes, it’s starting. But he’s had 1 season with injuries, stop making up shit if you don’t know shit, (Brett).”

    Yeah, but this time I spelled Ridiculous correct ( thanks to Brett)

  15. Heard from a source they are trying to get Adam Graves Night for Nov 10th VS Edmonton..makes alot of sense, as he played for BOTH teams. Funny thing is I was trying to get tickets for that particular game.

  16. Pete, How sweet, what kind of treat, where can we meet, I like to Beat..rub my Feet,..Have a Seat.

  17. You really think he will come after anyone on the team? Obviously he is a D Bag, but I don’t know, I just get the feeling he really liked his time here so he wouldnt do that

  18. You really think he will come after anyone on the team?
    ………

    Avery’s, Avery! He’s going to do his thing. Doesn’t matter who’s in his way. Shanahan ripped him for being a terrible team-mate while he was playing in LA but he and Shanny got along great. I don’t doubt that Avery would go right back at Shanny if he thinks it will give him and his team a competetive edge. That’s what alot of you guys who hate Avery (because he does get a little dirty in play, and very dirty in speech … FAR FAR from old school, i’m sorry for that) don’t get. He’ll do anything, besides maybe stealing someone’s child and running over a crippled dog, to win. He’s a great ‘competitor for that reason and you can’t deny it.

  19. be nice if they did gravey night on the 10th of november againsst the oilers.

    god i hope i can get tickets

  20. Guys and gals, been a blast, hope I didnt wrinkle too many feathers, but a troll neb=ver stays in one city long, learned that from Troll U when I Trollinated several years ago. You guys are really fun, and were respectful at all times. Hope your sports team does Great, keep well, T Rolle signing over and out.

  21. I Bleed Ranger Blue on

    On Newyorkrangers.com or i should say Rangers.nhl.com(BS) theres an advertisment showing a Naslund Jersey with a number 91? does anyone know if he confirmed he would be wearing 91 or are they assuming?

  22. I Bleed Ranger Blue on

    i just check the roster to see if it was there…oddly enough his name doesnt even apear on our roster.

  23. according to wikipedia, graves night will be jan 7 against the habs. not sure where they got their source from, but that appears to be it for now. the oilers would make more sense, but we will see. would love to hear if sam has any news on this

Leave A Reply

Protected with IP Blacklist CloudIP Blacklist Cloud